Author Topic: More on story codes  (Read 2626 times)

Offline PaganWriter

More on story codes
« on: November 11, 2022, 10:24:14 pm »
I have submitted my first story to the Plaza and it is currently in the queue. I know Teanne is busy so don't want to bother while changes are afoot hence my post here. I thought that story codes and the right category (Bound, Latex, Packaged etc.) were applied by the author so I diligently went through the story codes and wrote them in at the top of the page. Having read through some posts here in the forum I'm getting the impression that this is not how it's done so would like some enlightenment regarding this. I am a complete novice when it comes to submitting stories, I've read a lot but have never put one in myself before. I have read the writers guidelines but this bit on story codes and categories has left me a bit flummoxed. Advice anyone, before I submit the final two parts of the story?

Online bentbliss

• Bound & Gagged
Re: More on story codes
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2022, 11:57:39 pm »
I have never added my own storycodes when I have submitted stories. In part because it seemed whoever was doing the copy editing was going to create their own list of codes. As far as I have noticed lately that is only Teann. Some stories can fit multiple categories. I assume you can suggest things but ultimately I think Teann makes the choice of what fits best for the website. That is just how I view it. It probably doesn't hurt to come up with your own list and see if it matches later. Sometimes a code we think is relevant may not be as well as we can miss something. Story category can be obvious if the focus is on one particular category but I have seen plenty of stories that fit multiple.