General Category > General Discussion

How/when did you start writing?

(1/4) > >>

Tigerstretch:
I am curious to know how you started writing. Feel free to share if you want to. I'd really like to know. :)

In my case, I'm 42 years old, but I only started writing a couple of months ago and discovered that I liked it a lot. When I was in high school, I was not doing well. They forced us to read terrible books, and I never read them. I don't even know how I graduated. The only books I read were cartoons like Tintin, Le Scrameustache, and Lucky Luke. (all in french since I'm French Canadian). Then when I started working at 20yo, I stopped reading entirely.

In my late 20s, I learned to speak and read English and moved to an English province. I'm using two languages all the time now. About two years ago, I was a bit bored and didn't have any hobbies anymore. I went on Amazon and bought two series.
- Spice & Wolf (manga)
- Is it wrong to try to pick up girls in a dungeon (Light Novel)
It was a lucky pick because they are both EXCELLENT series. So yeah, I read my first real book when I was 40yo. (I know, it's rather pathetic) ... The light novels are simple to understand and they don't discourage me. I read the 24 books in the series of is it wrong ... and even started reading other LN like Overlord and Legend of the galactic heroes.

Then three months ago, I decided to try writing. In one week, I wrote a 60k word light novel, and I have been editing it since then. I quickly realized that I bit more than I could chew. The number of things I learned while writing this sci-fi monster cut my legs off. I needed to find something else to practice on first else I'll never finish that novel.

So a few weeks ago, I started writing a short story here to learn and practice. Publishing 5-7k words story was so much easier than 60k words. Plus, the little feedbacks I received right away were awesome. You guys are great.

How was it for you?

dpgsm:
 Hi